Just As I Am

Beach at Pensacola Lighthouse

Just as I am, my broken heart
To give Thee the whole, and not just part.
For Thou canst give me a brand new start,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come.

Just as I am, my weary soul
I now submit to Thy control,
For Thou canst make my spirit whole,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come.


Continuing with the “AS IS” theme from yesterday, I wish to share a few extra stanzas for the familiar invitation hymn, “Just As I Am.” These words came out of a rather difficult time in my life. My heart was broken, but that was good. You see, I’ve come to learn that God uses broken things. Brokenness and humility go hand in hand, and that’s just the sort of person that God can use. He wants to fill us with Himself, but we have to be emptied first. You may say, “I get that He can’t fill a cup that’s already full, but how can He fill a broken one?” That’s easy. He mends it first. Consider these verses:

Psalm 34:18 The LORD is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit.

Psalm 51:17 The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, Thou wilt not despise.

Ezekiel 34:16 I will seek that which was lost, and bring again that which was driven away, and will bind up that which was broken, and will strengthen that which was sick….

Also consider the life of Job. He went through some horrific trials, where in one day he lost his wealth, his health, and his children. We know why these things happened to him because the story is written from an omniscient point of view. But Job did not have the advantage of that perspective. All he knew was that he loved God and was willing to glorify Him, no matter what his circumstances. “The LORD gave, and the LORD hath taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD” (Job 1:21b). Seven times he used the word “broken” to describe how he felt. But in the end, God healed him and gave him back double of all that he had before. He did this when Job prayed for his friends—the very friends who had criticized him, run him down, discouraged him, and found fault with him. I tell you, that’s the kind of faith I want—faith that does not give up, even when I am beaten down and broken, and I don’t know why.

The original lyrics to this beloved hymn were written by Charlotte Elliot in 1935. They are in the public domain, so I’ve included them here. I knew five of them already, but the last one is new to me. How many of these stanzas have you heard?

Just as I am, without one plea,
But that Thy blood was shed for me,
And that Thou bidst me come to Thee,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come.

Just as I am, and waiting not
To rid my soul of one dark blot,
To Thee whose blood can cleanse each spot,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come.

Just as I am, though tossed about
With many a conflict, many a doubt,
Fightings and fears within, without,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come.

Just as I am, poor, wretched, blind;
Sight, riches, healing of the mind,
Yea, all I need in Thee to find,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come.

Just as I am, Thou wilt receive,
Wilt welcome, pardon, cleanse, relieve;
Because Thy promise I believe,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come.

Just as I am, Thy love unknown
Hath broken every barrier down;
Now, to be Thine, yea, Thine alone,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come.

I leave you now with one more verse from God’s Word:

Psalm 147:3 He healeth the broken in heart, and bindeth up their wounds.

As you go throughout the day, meditate on these things, and share them with someone you know who is in need of encouragement.

To read more on this subject, check out Parker Kaser‘s (8:thirtyone) post titled “The Art of Breaking.”


Photo taken at the Pensacola Lighthouse, Pensacola, Florida, 2016

8 thoughts on “Just As I Am

  1. I love that hymn and I have heard every verse except the last one. I enjoyed reading your profile (I recently passed the 50 mark; it’s not so bad). At this time, my blog is also a conglomeration of whatever I am doing at the moment. One day, running in a local race. The next day, it might be garage saling, or something from my morning quiet time. Part of me wants to funnel in down into some central theme, but for now, it’s quite a mixture 🙂 Keep up the good work, and I’m following!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Just As I Am | Poet's Corner

A penny for your thoughts...

